Holderness/Weaver Award

Award Purpose:

The Holderness/Weaver Award is for recognition of North Carolinians who have rendered unusually distinguished public service to the community, state, or nation but who would not be generally prominent or known on a national basis.

Award Guidelines:

  • Nominations must be thoroughly documented.
  • No full-time UNCG employee or trustee is eligible until three years beyond his or her term of service.
  • No more than one Holderness/Weaver Award is presented in one year, and the award is not required to be presented in any given year.

Previous Recipients:

2017 – Robert E. (Bobby) Long, Jr., founder at Long, Miller and Associates, volunteer leader

2016Shirley Frye, educator and community volunteer

2015 – Elizabeth Buford ’68

2014Rev. Mike Aiken, executive director of Greensboro Urban Ministry

2013 – Richard Whittington and Preston Lane, co-founders of Triad Stage

2012 – Alan W. Cone ’72 MEd

2012Sally Schindel Cone ’72 MEd

2011Dot Kendall Kearns, Public Education Advocate

2010T. Clyde & Dorothy B. Collins ’54, Philanthropic & Volunteer Leaders

2009Florence Gatten, Former Greensboro City Council member and Community Volunteer

2008 – No award presented

2007Bill Black, Community Volunteer

2006Carol J. Mattocks ’62, Community Leader, Volunteer, and Child Advocate

2005Shirley Spears, Philanthropic Leader

2004Barbara and Herman Cone, Philanthropic Leaders

2002Cynthia Doyle, Community Leader and Volunteer; Community Foundation of Greensboro; The Greensboro Children’s Museum

2001Phillip Kirk, President, North Carolina Citizens for Business & Industry

2000Ashley Ormond Thrift, Attorney, North Carolina Partnership for Children (Smart Start)

1999Betty Rae McCain, Secretary, North Carolina Department of Cultural Resources