Charles Duncan McIver Award

Award Purpose:

Established in April 1983 by the university’s Board of Trustees, the Charles Duncan McIver Award has been established for recognition of North Carolinians who have rendered unusually distinguished public service to the state or nation. This award, in the form of a medal bearing the likeness of Charles Duncan McIver, will be known as the “McIver Medal” in honor of the University’s founder.

Award Guidelines:

  • Nominations must be thoroughly documented.
  • No full-time UNCG employee or trustee is eligible until three years beyond his or her term of service.
  • No more than one McIver Award is presented in one year, and the award is not required to be presented in any given year.

Previous Recipients:

2017 – Joseph M. Bryan, Jr., Philanthropist and Community Leader

2016 – Tom Ross, Former UNC System president

2015 – Fred Chappell, Poet Laureate of North Carolina

2014 – Kathy E. Manning, community advocate

2013 – Maggie Jeffus, ’70 MEd, N.C. Representative

2012 – Martha Hendrix Kaley ’80 MEd

2011 Sue Woodall Cole, Business Leader

2010Stanley & Doris Tanger, Philanthropic Leaders

2009Ann Goodnight, Philanthropic and Volunteer Leader

2008 – No award presented

2007James B. Hunt, Governor, North Carolina

2006Hugh M. Morton, Conservationist and Preservationist

2005E. S. “Jim” Melvin, President, The Bryan Foundation

2004Don Cameron, President, Guilford Technical Community College

2002Dennis Barry, President & CEO, Moses Cone Medical System

2001Charles Hamner, President & CEO, North Carolina Biotechnology Center

2000Thomas W. Lambeth, Executive Director, Z. Smith Reynolds Foundation

1999Gerhardt Zimmerman, Maestro, North Carolina Symphony

1998John Hope Franklin, Professor, Duke University

1997Terry Sanford, Governor and Senator, North Carolina

1996Barton A. Parks, Professor of Justice and Policy, Guilford College

1995C. Stewart Rogers, Healthserve Medical Center; Hospice and Palliative Care of Greensboro

1994Jack F. Matlock, Jr., Ambassador, US Foreign Service

1993 – No Award Presented

1992William C. Friday, President, The University of North Carolina System

1991L. Richardson Preyer, Congressman, United States Congress

1990Robert Byrd Jordan III, Lieutenant Governor, North Carolina

1989Bland W. Worley, Board Chairman, Barclays American Corporation

1988Martha K. Sharpless, Chief of Pediatric Teaching Service, Moses Cone Hospital

1987Archie K. Davis, Board Chairman, Wachovia Corporation

1986Henry E. Frye, Chief Justice, North Carolina Supreme Court

1985Susie Marshall Sharpe, Chief Justice, North Carolina Supreme Court